Living with Lucid: Working desktop effects on an Intel X3100

I have tested Ubuntu 10.04 since Alpha 3 on a variety of laptops, all of which have integrated Intel graphics.  It’s been a real mixed bag performance-wise.  My HP Mini (GMA950) has been A-OK all along.  My IBM ThinkPad X40 (Intel 855, I think) has no DRI acceleration.  My HP Compaq 2710p with an Intel X3100 has working DRI and Compiz is fine but the netbook launcher is dog-slow on anything newer than the 2.6.32-18 kernel.  Thankfully, the xorg-edgers PPA fixes all of my graphical woes.

NOTE THAT THIS MAY CAUSE PROBLEMS FOR YOU.  It has worked for me, I offer no guarantees.

  1. Open a terminal
  2. sudo add-apt-repository ppa:xorg-edgers/ppa
  3. sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
  4. Reboot, you should be good.

Again, this has worked for me.  Please do this knowing that you’re basically running beta Xorg packages.

