Firefox 4.0 Now Available

Not to be outdone by Microsoft or Google, Mozilla has released Firefox 4.0, with beautiful visualizations to show the roll-out.

Mozilla Firefox 4.0

I’ve been using late betas and RCs for a while now and like what I see.  It has a nicely minimal interface and seems quite a bit faster than Firefox 3.  It still doesn’t load as quickly as Chrome 10 on older hardware, but Firefox is a champ, and is still my favourite all-around web browser.  Best of all:  Firefox 4.0 is available for Linux, Mac, and Windows (yes, even XP.) to say nothing of smaller, lesser-known operating systems and platforms.  (Firefox for Android seems to be progressing nicely.)

Congratulations, Mozilla.  I look forward to your shorter development cycles.

(Now, don’t forget Thunderbird.  It’s feature-complete to me but could certainly use some belt tightening.)

Here’s to an open, standard, and competitive web!

