Living with Lion: Edirol UA-25ex stops working after upgrade

This one is pretty easy, just like in Linux, in fact.

The problem is that Roland hasn’t released an updated (64bit) driver for the UA-25ex yet. In the meantime, there’s a switch on the back of the interface to toggle Advanced Driver mode.

If you turn this off, it makes the UA-25ex look like a standard, generic, USB audio interface. You lose volume control in OSX but at least it works.

Hopefully Edirol will release a driver soon. They’re usually pretty good about this. I know I’ll be checking their driver page for the next bit.

3 Comments to “Living with Lion: Edirol UA-25ex stops working after upgrade”

  1. Thanks for the info. I’ve turned the switch off and iTunes works fine but in Logic Express, although the Edirol is selected in preferences, I only get sound from the internal speakers.

    Any ideas please?

  2. UA-25ex working fine here with lion (build 11A511). I’m using the snow leopard (1.0) drivers from the edirol site. Advance mode is working as well as the volume control. The only change I noticed compared to 10.6.7 is a slightly increased load time (beach ball) when accessing the ua-25ex in system preferences.

  3. Hi John and Chris. Roland has new 10.7 drivers up on their site. Wow, that was fast.

    I’ve installed them on my iMac and they seem to work a treat. I must say, I’m impressed with Edirol.

